Green Bean Asparagus Tangy Warm Salad

I love the idea that I can start throwing different items together and create something different and at the same time healthy. The original recipe didn’t have fresh green beans but I saw them in the fridge looking a bit lonely and decided to add a few to the dish. I am glad that I did as it provided more crunch to the dish.

Half a bushel asparagus

Handful of green beans

Half container fresh mushrooms

Small onion ( I used sweet onion, use what you got )

2-3 garlic cloves

Balsamic Capers, about half a jar. ( You can use more or less)

2-3 tbls Marsala Wine or Red Cooking Wine ( add more if desired )

1-2 tbls Red Wine Vinegar ( add more if desired )

1/2 cup Chicken Broth

Rice ( optional)

Instructions:

First you want to get a pan started for  boiling water so that you can blanch the asparagus and green beans. While waiting for the water to get hot; go ahead and chop up the mushrooms, onions, garlic. Break or cut the tips off the green beans and cut asparagus ends off and cut into 2 pieces.  In a med pan add 2 tbls of wine, onions, garlic and mushrooms, saute for about 7 mins. Add in the capers and saute for another 5-10 mins adding in the last tbls of wine and add in the 1/2 chicken broth. While that is cooking on med heat toss the asparagus and green beans in the hot water and cook for 3-5 mins. Once they are to where you want them scoop out of water and add to other pan and saute for 7 mins and add in the 1-2 tbls red wine vinegar.   Eat as is or over a bed of rice.

 

I hope you enjoy. I know my husband loves these crazy dishes I come up with and I hope you do as well.

Leave a Reply

