Popcorn Balls ( Great Grandma’s Way )

Out of all the popcorn ball recipes out there this will always be my favorite.  I know I should only make a single batch because I know I will eat and eat until my tummy cannot handle another popcorn ball but I always make a double batch a single batch wouldn’t be worth making.  One day I wanted to make them and I looked all over in my recipe books for it and I couldn’t find it so I decided to go online and I looked for over 30 minutesImage with no results so I gave up and called my mom for the recipe.  I call her and I ask her if I could get the recipe and she starts laughing because she was thinking about making them herself.  LOL.   Great minds think alike. She gave me the recipe and told me to eat some for her as well.  You know I sure ate more for her.  So I wanted to share my favorite popcorn ball recipe with all of you. 

 

Ingredients:

1 cup uncooked popcorn 

1/2 cup Karo Syrup 

1/2 cup sugar 

1/4 cup molasses 

4 tsp butter 

1/2 tsp baking soda 

1/4 cream of tarter 

Instructions:

I air pop my popcorn but you can cook in a pan on the stove. Once all the popcorn is popped filter the popcorn as best as you can making there are no unpopped kernals. Once that is done in the pan you cooked the popcorn or a new pan put in the Karo Syrup, Sugar and Molasses. You will stir until combine on med/high heat and stir often. Usually after 10 minutes you will get a cold glass of water and drop a bit of the mix into the cold water if the syrup forms a ball then its ready to add the butter, baking soda and cream of tarter. ( NOTE: I get the butter, soda and tarter in a small bowl ready to go into the syrup mix.) Once you add the butter,soda and the tarter mix well and turn off the burner and start pouring the syup mix over the two bowls of popcorn. Once that is pour over the popcorn stir the syrup and popcorn together until well coated. I like my popcorn super covered with the syrup that is why I make a double batch. Once well coated add butter to your hands and start forming popcorn balls. Once they are formed you are ready to eat. 

 

I hope you all enjoy these as much as I do and if you have any questions please let me know. Thanks

Leave a Reply

